Tea and Herbal Tea Ingredients

Gluten is a protein found in these grains: barley, rye, oats and wheat.

Why Gluten-free Is Important:

Celiac Disease is a rare disorder caused by an intolerance to gluten, a protein found only in these grains: barley, rye, oats and wheat. Symptoms of Celiac Disease include diarrhea, nausea, weight loss, skin rash, joint or bone pain, abdominal bloating and anemia.

It is often misdiagnosed as irritable bowel syndrome or spastic colon and for this reason may be more prevalent than currently diagnosed. FDA estimates that between 40,000 to 60,000 people are diagnosed with this disorder, although 1.5 to 3 million people (0.4 - 1% of the American population) may not be aware they are intolerant to gluten.

While tea is a naturally gluten-free beverage, sometimes a tea or an herbal tea may contain a small amount of gluten-containing grain as an ingredient.  All current Bigelow Teas are formulated to be gluten-free - we do not use any of these grains in our products.

Tea is a naturally gluten-free beverage; all current Bigelow Teas do not use any grains or gluten containing ingredients.